The perplexities and pleasures of Love

Come in packages.


According to Gary Chapman

there are 5 of them.


For more use the DOOR.





   If you’ve ever received a significant present (according to the giver) that missed the mark (according to the recipient) and led to mutual disappointment, great or small by both persons, you can understand what “love languages” is all about. What some (seemingly halfhearted) research has suggested that the excitement about Chapman’s work might be overrated, nonetheless, Chapman (with a master’s degree in anthropology from Wheaton and a PhD–subject not identified–from Southwestern Seminary) has since 1992 sold more than 8,000,000 copies of the various versions of his argument (now in 49 languages), and has conducted numerous seminars where attenders evaluate what languages they “speak.”

   Our purpose here is simply to bring to your attention Dr. Chapman’s popular–since 1992–best-selling book, The 5 Love Languages (Northfield Publishing, 1992-2015). It’s easily available in several audio, electronic, and paper formats at Amazon and elsewhere.

   The 5 languages are these:

(1)  Words of Affirmation

(2)  Acts of Service

(3)  Receiving Gifts

(4)  Quality Time

(5)  Physical Touch

   While most of these matter to some extent, according to many, each person has a primary “language of love,” as well as a secondary one. As with ordinary language, people get along better when they understand their language as well as that of the partner they’re with.

   The above has been adapted from marriage partners to single adults and children, as well as to working in a business environment.

   This simple idea can be easily overlooked. Many, obviously, have found it useful.